March 2020 OES Beacon

Request for Nominations for OES Awards 2020

René Garello, Chair of IEEE/OES Nominations and Appointments Committees, Junior Past President        

Each year at the beginning of January, the Oceanic Engineering Society is proposing a call for four Awards, with a closing date of June 30th.  A reminder call for nominations is issued mid-March. The Awards Committee requests the nominator to provide  the listing of qualifications of the nominee relevant to the award criteria, and up to 5 references, by filling the Awards Nomination on-line form (

The Awards descriptions are given below.

Request for Nominations for DTAA:

The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award 2020

The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award is given to honor an outstanding technical contribution to oceanic engineering in either the fundamental or applied areas. The award recognizes either a single major invention or scientific contribution or a distinguished series of contributions over a long period of time.

Request for Nominations for DSA:

The Distinguished Service Award 2020

The Distinguished Service Award is given to honor an individual IEEE OES member for outstanding contributions towards furthering the objectives of the Oceanic Engineering Society.

Company/Institution Award

The award will be presented to a corporation or institution that has significantly supported the activity and goals of OES through such areas as conference participation, patronage, technical innovation and technical or administrative participation.

Emeritus Award

The award will be presented to an OES member having been particularly important for the Society and who is no longer in any position of Society governance.