IEEE OES Emeritus Award

2019 IEEE OES Emeritus Award

James Lynch, recipient of the 2019 Emeritus Award

James Lynch is presented the Emeritus Award for his outstanding service to the Society as elected member of Executive Committees as Editor-in-Chief (1999-2004) of the OES Journal.

Dr. James Lynch obtained his B.S. in Physics from the Stevens Institute of Technology in 1972 and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Texas at Austin in 1978. He then worked for three years at the Applied Research Laboratories of the University of Texas at Austin (ARL/UT) from 1978 to 1981, after which he joined the scientific staff at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI). He worked at WHOI until his retirement in 2017, and currently holds the position of Senior Scientist Emeritus.  His research specialty areas are ocean acoustics and acoustical oceanography. He also greatly enjoys occasional forays into physical oceanography, marine geology, and marine biology. Dr. Lynch is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA), a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), former Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering, and current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America.  He is also the 2009 winner of the Walter Munk Award. His primary hobby is amateur astronomy, and he is the current president of the Cape Cod Astronomical Society.

IEEE OES Emeritus Award

Title:  IEEE OES Emeritus Award

Description. The award will be presented to an OES member having been particularly important for the Society and who is no longer in any position of Society governance. A call for nominations will be issued by the Awards Committee, which will choose the recipients.

Administration. Administered by the Oceanic Engineering Society

Eligibility. The recipients shall be member of the IEEE in good standing of at least the grade of Senior Member, and member of the Oceanic Engineering Society. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.

Prize Items. Photo-Engraved Plaque

Frequency:  Annual. The award will be given only if a suitable awardee is identified.

Funds.  Potential cost of a conference registration, lodging and travel for the recipient if not already a registrant of the conference where the award is presented. The society’s budget includes the expenses for this award and the Society budget is net positive with the inclusion of the award.

Nominee Solicitation. The OES Awards Committee will issue a call for nominees.

Awards Committee. The Panel for the Emeritus Award shall be the Junior Past President as Chair, the Senior Past President, and another Past President. The Chair may select other members of the Awards Committee according to their qualification for this particular Award. In the event that any of these is nominated for the Emeritus Award, the Chair shall select other members of the Awards Committee to reach a total of at least three referees.

Schedule. The call for nomination is issued at the end of March and closes at the end of May. The recipients are chosen by the end of June. The Awards Committee Chair shall, following the close of nominations, select the members of the Awards Committee appropriate to the qualifications of the nominees to serve, with him or her as chair.

Selection/Basis for Judging.  The Awards Committee requests a nomination form providing the listing of qualifications of the nominee relevant to the award criteria.

Presentation. The Award will be presented at the Fall OCEANS conference.

Publicity. The call shall be publicized in the Society Newsletter, The Beacon; the Society’s website, the Society’s LinkedIn page; and other Society media. The announcement shall also be forwarded to other professional publications, both physical and virtual.

Past IEEE OES Emeritus Award Recipients

2019     James Lynch

2018     Daniel Alspach

2017     Joseph Czika

2016     Fred Maltz

2015     Joseph Vadus & Claude Brancart

2014     Glen Williams, Stan Chamberlain & Norman Miller