Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to honor an individual IEEE member for outstanding contributions towards furthering the objectives of the Oceanic Engineering Society. The award consists of an appropriately worded certificate. Candidates for the Distinguished Service Award are nominated by the OES Awards Committee and must be approved by a majority of the elected members of the AdCom.

2019 Distinguished Service Award
Marinna Martini receives the Distinguished Service Award from OES president Christian de Moustier.

Marinna Martini is presented the Distinguished Service Award (DSA) for contributions to the governance of the Society as an elected member of the Administrative Committee (2007-2012; 2014-2016 and 2019-2021) and Executive Committees, for service as Secretary (2015-2018).

Marinna Martini is the lead engineer for sediment transport instrumentation and field operations at the U.S. Geo-logical Survey in Woods Hole, MA, USA.  She provides technical services to USGS scientists in support of physical oceanographic and sediment transport studies. This work includes systems design of moorings, bottom landers and data loggers, software development, project management and leadership (for example: soundwaves.usgs.gov/2011/11/fieldwork2.html). At the national level she served on steering committees to develop USGS technical capabilities and helped to run workshops. Internationally she has contributed to field work and scientific meetings. Her credentials include an M.S. from the University of New Hampshire, (ocean engineering, instrumentation), a B.S. from the United States Merchant Marine Academy, (marine & systems engineering), professional engineering licensure in the state of Massachusetts, and a U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Marine License, 3rd Assistant Engineer, unlimited horsepower.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Service Award of the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society
2018 Jerry Carroll
2017 Robert L. Wernli
2016 Harumi Sugimatsu
2015 Elizabeth Creed
2014 Diane DiMassa
2013 Robert Bannon
2012 Robert Spindel
2011 James Barbera
2010 Thomas Freud Wiener
2009 Christian de Moustier
2008 Archie Todd Morrison III
2007 Stephen M. Holt
2006 Rene Garello
2005 Claude P. Brancart
2004 William M. Carey
2003 Joseph Czika
2002 James S. Collins
2001 Claude P. Brancart
2000 Frederick H. Maltz
1999 Pierre Sabathé
1998 Norman D. Miller
1997 Ferial M. El-Hawary
1996 Glen N. Williams
1995 David E. Weissman
1994 Daniel L. Alspach
1993 Edward W. Early
1992 Gordon Raisbeck
1991 Frederick H. Fisher
1990 Anthony I. Eller
1989 Eric Herz
1988 Harold A. Sabbagh
1987 Stanley L. Ehrlich
1986 Stanley G. Chamberlain
1985 Joseph R. Vadus
1984 John C. Redmond
1983 Elmer P. Wheaton
1982 Arthur S. Westneat
1981 Lloyd Z. Maudlin
1980 Donald M. Bolle
1979 Richard M. Emberson
1978 Edward W. Early
1977 Calvin T. Swift
1976 Frank Snodgrass
1975 Arthur S. Westneat