IEEE OES Presidential Award

2020 Presidential Award

Carl Michael Pinto
Carl Michael Pinto

Each year, the Presidential Award of the Oceanic Engineering Society honors one OES member who has been a consistent volunteer contributor to the Society. This award allows the Society to recognize the work done by a volunteer who is not an elected member of the Society. The purpose is to fill a gap between a simple “thank you” and a Distinguished Service Award.

On behalf of the Society it is an honor to present this year’s Presidential Award to Carl Michael Pinto (Mike) in recognition of his extensive support and financial management of all OCEANS conferences starting with his service as Finance Chair of OCEANS 2016 Monterey. That works out to 10 OCEANS conferences so far, plus several upcoming conferences. Let’s not forget that 2020 had 3 events: OCEANS 2020 Singapore, OCEANS 2020 Gulf Coast, which merged and morphed into Global OCEANS 2020: Singapore – U.S. Gulf Coast, all with complicated financial and contractual procedures.

In addition, Mike has been directly involved in the contracts negotiations for OCEANS conference venues and vendors, and for statements of work by Professional Conference Organizers (PCO).

Mike currently serves as the Vice President of Budget and Finance of the Marine Technology Society, co-sponsor with OES of OCEANS conferences. Before retiring at the end of 2019 Mike was the Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer of the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI) for 20 years, and of the Monterey Bay Aquarium for the previous 16 years.

IEEE OES Presidential Award

Title:  IEEE OES Presidential Award

Description. The award will be presented to an OES member giving volunteer time on a regular basis. This award allows the Society to recognize the work done by an individual at a more basic level, i.e. not in the Administration of the Society. The purpose is to fill in a gap between a simple “thanks” and a Distinguished Service Award.

Administration. Administered by the Oceanic Engineering Society

Eligibility. The recipient shall be a member of the IEEE in good standing of at least the grade of Graduate Student Member, and a member of the Oceanic Engineering Society. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.

Prize Items. Medallion plaque

Frequency:  Annual. The award will be given only if a suitable awardee is identified.

Funds.  Potential cost of a conference registration, lodging and travel for the recipient if not already a registrant of the conference where the award is presented. The award itself has no cash prize. The society’s budget includes the expenses for this award and the Society budget is net positive with the inclusion of the award.

Nominee Solicitation. No solicitation outside the Executive Committee. The President would make the selection with recommendations from the Executive Committee (ExCom) and review from the Awards Committee.

Awards Committee. The Panel for the Presidential Award shall be the Junior Past President as Chair, the Senior Past President, and another Past President.

Schedule. This Award is internal to the OES governance. The selection must be made by the end of June.

Selection/Basis for Judging. The President will make the selection based on returns from the Awards Committee and input from the Executive Committee. The selection will be based on the merit and the level of involvement into Society activities.

Presentation. The Award will be presented at the Fall OCEANS conference.

Publicity. There is no call for this Award.


Past IEEE OES Presidential Award Recipients

2019     Mohd Rizal Arshad

2018     Venugopalan Pallayil

2017     Philippe Courmontagne

2016     M. A. Atmanand

2015     Franz S. Hover

2014     Harumi Sujimatsu