Distinguished Technical Achievement Award

Distinguished Technical Achievement Award Recipients

The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award is given to honor an outstanding technical contribution to oceanic engineering in either the fundamental or applied areas. The recipient need not be a member of the Oceanic Engineering Society or the IEEE. The award recognizes either a single major invention or scientific contribution or a distinguished series of contributions over a long period of time.

Request for Nominations for The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award 2019

The IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society is hereby soliciting nominations for the society Distinguished Technical Achievement Award for significant accomplishments in oceanic engineering. Download the nomination form here. Nominations should be forwarded to the Awards Chair, Dr. René Garello at r.garello@ieee.org. The deadline for nominations is 1 July 2019.

Dr. René Garello, Chair
IEEE/OES Nominations and Appointments Committee

2018 Distinguished Technical Achievement Award

Martin Klein is presented the DTA award for the design and development of the first commercial dual-channel side scan sonar and contributions to new techniques in ocean exploration.

Martin Klein receives the Distinguished Technical Achievement Award from OES president Christian de Moustier.

Mr. Martin Klein is Founder and former President of Klein Associates, Inc., now Klein Marine Systems. A Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) graduate (Class of 1962), Mr. Klein was Program Manager for Sonar Systems at E.G.&G. International (1962—1967) where he developed the first commercial dual-channel side scan sonar, establishing a lineage of seabed mapping systems that continues to evolve and to be used to this day. In 1968 he founded Klein Associates, Inc., where he improved and diversified the product, distributed the first dual-frequency system, and developed the first combined side scan and sub-bottom profiling sonar. These systems have seen worldwide use in surveys for the offshore commercial sector, for resource management, maritime archeology, as well as for military applications. The Klein Side Scan Sonar was one of the iconic objects selected for the MIT150 Exhibition, commemorating the 150th anniversary of the founding of MIT.

Klein’s sonars have been used to help find numerous shipwrecks that include the Titanic, the Lusitania, the Edinburgh, the Hamilton and Scourge, the Lake George Radeau (oldest warship in the U.S.), and the HMS Erebus. In the 1960s Mr. Klein helped design, install and operate the first deep side scan sonar, and up-down and navigation sonar for the Bathyscaph Trieste during the search for the lost submarine USS Thresher. In the 1970s Mr. Klein worked with the Academy of Applied Science and the Loch Ness Investigation Bureau using his side scan sonar instruments to show the existence of caves in the steep walls of the Loch, locate cultural artifacts, and assess the fauna of that storied body of water. He participated in dives of several research submersibles, including a 5000- foot dive in the ALVIN with a team from the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution in which he made the first sub-bottom profile from a deep submersible.

Mr. Klein is the author of numerous patents and publications. He is a Life Member of the IEEE, a fellow of the Explorers Club, and a fellow and former Director of Budget and Finance for the Marine Technology Society. Mr. Klein was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, is recipient of the Order of Excellence Award from the Alliance for Maritime Heritage Conservation and the Compass Distinguished Achievement Award sponsored by Sea Technology Magazine, and in 2018 received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Oceanology International Conference in London. Currently Mr. Klein serves on the Advisory Board of the MIT Sea Grant Program and the Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary, and serves as a judge and mentor for the Marine Advanced Technology Education (MATE) ROV Competition.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Technical Achievement Award

2017 Peter N. Mikhalevsky
2016 John E. Ehrenberg
2015 Milica Stojanovic
2014 Christian de Moustier
2013 Gwyn Griffiths
2012 Joseph Vadus
2011 Christopher von Alt
2010 Tamaki Ura
2009 Robert T. Bannon
2008 Thomas B. Sanford
2007 Donald E. Barrick
2006 Fred Noel Spiess
2005 Douglas C. Webb
2004 John P. Craven
2003 Georges Bienvenu
2002 James Candy
2001 Werner R. Alpers
2000 Albert J. Williams 3rd
1999 William M. Carey
1998 Burton G. Hurdle
1997 Newell Booth
1996 Frederick H. Fisher
1995 Mack O’Brien
1994 Edmund J. Sullivan
1993 William J. Plant
1992 Arthur B. Baggeroer
1991 Henry Cox
1990 Robert C. Spindel
1989 Victor C. Anderson
1988 Chester M. McKinney
1987 James R. McFarlane
1986 Robert J. Urick
1985 William N. Nierenberg
1984 John B. Hersey
1983 Alan Berman
1982 Ira Dyer
1981 No Award
1980 Neil Brown
1979 David W. Hyde
1978 Richard K. Moore
1977 Howard A. Wilcox
1976 Werner Kroebel
1975 Robert A. Frosh