Society News

OES AdCom Election Results

I’m pleased to inform you of the results of our annual election for the OES Administrative Committee (AdCom).

The following candidates have been elected for a 3-year term starting on January 1st, 2021:

Gerardo Acosta

Farheen Fauziya

Fausto Ferreira

Malcolm Heron

Katsuyoshi Kawaguchi

Venugopalan Pallayil

Note that we had an increase in participation (25.5%, against 23% for the previous years). The geographical distribution shows that Regions 1 to 7 (that is USA/Canada) aren’t represented. The gender balance is not in favor of women this year, mainly due to low number of female candidates, and the selection process in which many other parameters were considered.