December 2021 Beacon

New Technology Committee Chair and Co-Chairs

Shyam Madhusudhana, Coordinator of Technology Committees

OES welcomes three new appointees to its slate of Technology Committees (TC) — Dr. Ferdinando Nunziata (Parthenope University of Naples), Dr. Ananya Sen Gupta (University of Iowa) and Dr. Mandar Chitre (National University of Singapore). Nominations were received from current TC Chairs, and the motion to appoint the nominees, proposed by VP for Technical Activities, Dr. Venugopalan Pallayil, was approved by the AdCom via eVote. Dr. Nunziata will replace Dr. René Garello as the Chair of the Ocean Remote Sensing TC and serve for the remainder of the current term until December 2022. Dr. Sen Gupta and Dr. Chitre were appointed, with immediate effect, as Co-Chairs to the Data Analytics, Integration and Modeling and Underwater Communication, Navigation and Positioning TCs, respectively. Congratulations to the new appointees! Dr. Pallayil and I look forward to working with them.